Last blog- from Katelyn

Well the end of our San Antonio trip has arrived.  This trip was so wonderful.  I met a lot of wonderful people, and got some great advice with recruiting more members to gain numbers in state chapters as well as our local chapter.  I got to meet up with my other state officers and we have come up with some great plans for the year.  It felt really wonderful being able to represent the state of Indiana and being able to represent Saint Mary-of-the-Woods College.

I know the group of girls that went on the trip from the Woods represented the College really well, and also had a blast on this trip.

We had some interesting flights back to Indy with some major delays.  Although we had to wait awhile, I met some people.  At the airport in Saint Antonio I met some FBLA members (high school version of PBL) and they were so excited about their conference.  They were so happy to meet someone from the higher level of Future Business Leaders of America.  In New Jersey, I met a gentleman from an advertising agency which gave me a future contact after I graduate from the Woods.  I don’t know if I would have ever talked to these people if it wasn’t for my gained leadership and communication skills thanks to the conference.

So much was learned at this conference, and the skills I learned will remain with me the rest of my life.  This year I plan on encouraging students all over the state of Indiana to start a PBL organization to help them build their leadership and business skills not only through their school, but also on a more personal level.  Our local chapter at school is a pretty nice size but I really want to recruit more people for our chapter.  The more people we have in our chapter, the more people we will have to compete in competitive events.  I really hope that after this year we can have more people go with us to conferences.

The conference next summer is in Anaheim, California.  My goal is at least to gain 3 or 4 more individuals to the national conference with us every summer we attend.  I have had so many accomplishments throughout these national conferences we have attended.  It is almost surreal to think that the first conference in Orlando, I was a rookie and didn’t know what was going on.  Now at our second conference we attend I am the state President of Indiana and I have so many leadership roles.  I look forward to the upcoming year, and I will use and gain leadership skills, and communication skills.  I want to say thank you to all who made it possible for me to attend this conference, and I want to say thank you to all who has supported me. The Woods has done a tremendous job in helping me find my voice, and encouraging me to do all things possible.

Leave a Reply

